Overwhelmed…but in a good way

Wow… Who knew so many people had experienced a loss on Facebook? Thank you for sharing your stories of grief that you experienced both on and off-line, for your encouragement and support. I am blown away by each and every comment and all of the new followers, and if I had time I would respond to each and every one of you.  I am sorry for all of your losses, for your battles with cancer, for your friends and family members who are no longer with us.

You know, I created grieftastic as a sort of secret blog to privately deal with my grief. I didn’t even tell my family about it. Then somehow, someone at WordPress noticed and now I don’t feel like I have to keep my grief so private.  Your outpouring of response inspired me to tell my family about the blog. I also posted my last piece — where else — on Facebook (surprisingly, it didn’t garner very many likes or comments. I think it was too “heavy” and people wanted to hear about my dog taking a nap or something).

When we hide our grief, we empower it to grow. When we are brave enough to grieve in groups or publicly, we can find support and understanding that would not otherwise be possible. I hope all of you who are experiencing loss and grief, who are battling cancer, who are just having a fuck of a hard time know that I am thinking about you and enjoyed discovering your blogs over the past few weeks. Much love to you all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Overwhelmed…but in a good way

  1. artsifrtsy says:

    I think you are right about our grief growing or being empowered by secrecy. I lost a childhood friend this week and have started to write about it. I need for her death to be more than a Facebook post. Congrats on being FP – it was a thoughtful post and I think and important one.

    • I am so sorry to hear about your friend. I lost a childhood friend a few years back. I hadn’t known him in adulthood but there’s almost like you experience the loss for that like a child, like there’s a child-like part of you that grieves. I’m not being super articulate at this hour, but anyway, I’m sorry for your loss. Thanks for the congratulations. I am still shocked that happened (FP).

  2. JM Ferguson says:

    I came across your blog today and want to thank you for sharing your grief and the process of recovery that follows. My brother committed suicide at the end of 2011 and it became a catalyst for me to face my depression. I have recently started a blog to help with that process, to tell his story and like you, have kept it a secret from my family and friends. Again, I just want to thank you for or the inspiration. May we share our pain and heal a little bit each day.

Leave a Reply

